jump to navigation

grief on ice December 2, 2006

Posted by guinever in christianity, everyday life, grief.
trackback

Unexpected grief. Happens a lot. But who would’ve thought it could be during the Ice Wars? Skater Michael Weiss described the program he was about to do as emotional and spiritual. Hmm. . . what did he mean?

When Weiss’s music started, I immediately recognized those first notes of I Can Only Imagine. The song had been sung at my friend’s funeral in August and was played at the funeral of my brother’s mother-in-law in November.

Surrounded by Your glory,
what will my heart feel?
Will I dance for you Jesus,
or in awe of you be still?

Hearing this Mercy Me song reminded me of the recent funerals and of all the people in my life who have died. While the commentator droaned on about triple toes and double salchows, I was wishing he would just stop commentating and let me sing along to the song. I almost didn’t notice when Weiss did a black flip because I was thinking of Abby and Beth and Barbara all singing and dancing in heaven. And I just found out another sister in Christ had lost her husband.

Will I sing “Hallelujah”
Will I be able to speak at all?
I can only imagine
I can only imagine

I have lost many loved ones recently and the only thing that makes it okay is knowing I will see them again. Because of God’s saving grace, they have been released from the pains of this world and are living in glory. As the song continued, I imagined seeing my Saviour and letting my daughter Abby take me by the hand and show me the wondrous things she has discovered. I could only imagine heaven.

Later into the Ice Wars, Angela Nikodinov dedicated her program to her mother who had died recently. She skated to Faith Hill’s “There You’ll Be.” More death. More emotion. More grief on ice.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

