jump to navigation

a cake with no candles February 26, 2007

Posted by guinever in grief, healing.
trackback

Today was Abby’s birthday, so I baked a cake. The chocolate bundt cake made a nice dessert for after dinner, but there were no candles since the birthday girl isn’t around to blow them out. I wonder as she celebrates eternity in heaven if she is aware of her entrance into our world four years ago.

Last year on this calendar day, I took a bouquet of 3 yellow roses to Abby’s grave. This year, it would be 4 since another year has passed. When I got to her stone, someone else had already left four peach colored roses with pink ribbon and a butterfly. OK girlfriends, who was it? Fess up. Thank you, I love you. I love the rest of you too who didn’t go to the cemetery this week.

This year’s February 26 was easier on me than last year’s, much easier.

Comments»

1. Angie - February 27, 2007

I thought about you a lot yesterday – I have Abby’s birthday marked on the calendar so that I can be reminded to pray for you specifically that day. I hope you felt the hugs I was sending to you… Wish I would have had the presence of mind to send you the flowers, but I am so glad that somebody did! Loving you all!

Like


Leave a Reply

