jump to navigation

would’ve been 5 years old February 25, 2008

Posted by guinever in grief, healing, life, loss.
trackback

There’s a cake cooling on my counter tonight. It’s a cake in honor of Abby’s birthday.

I miss you, my baby girl. I can’t believe we’re about to have the third birthday without you.  Wow.  You would’ve been five tomorrow, should’ve been five. If you were here, I’d probably make you a dolly cake just like I made your baby sister in November when she turned 3. I’d also be getting ready for your big birthday party tomorrow.  It’s the big FIVE which means we would’ve invited some of your friends and had a pinata.  oooh.  We only do that around here when someone turns 5, you know.

I went to the cemetery today. I was going to take your siblings but they didn’t want to go. That’s probably a good thing because it was nice to be alone for awhile. I saw the tulips that the Burghers left on your grave for your birthday. We might all go tomorrow. We’ll see.

So what have you been doing? Singing and dancing and praising Jesus? Showing the new little girls around heaven? A friend of mine just lost her baby girl in the womb. Do you know her? Did you welcome Hallel Selah into heaven? Are you chasing butterflies and ladybugs and sitting at Jesus’ feet and in His lap?

I miss you, sweetie. I’ll see you someday.

Comments»

1. Karla Duerson - February 26, 2008

I’m thinking and praying for you all today. What a gift that you have the hope of heaven and Abby’s blessedness there with Jesus. Yet, it’s so sad that she can’t be here too.

Like

2. Amy - March 3, 2008

I just wanted to let you know that I’ve been thinking of you and your Abby.

Like


Leave a Reply

